Bareback #2!

Rob’s tail braid came out, leaving a beautiful wave.

I rode Robbye bareback again last night – to considerable improvement from last week’s bareback ride! I can already see how riding bareback once a week is really going to help my seat and equitation.

I think the short part is growing…

We started out working on lateral movement – I faced her to the wall, then asked her to move over. She still hasn’t had the lightbulb moment, but she did move over accidentally a couple times, so we stopped with those.

Next, we worked on trotting, then changing rein. She was okay, but the exercise was mostly for me. I can really feel the balance change when she changes bend – it’s very very obvious when you’re bareback and scared, as I was! A combination of increased security on my part and increased balance on her part is going to make rein changes a lot prettier and smoother.

Overall, it was a really fun ride. I was afraid that getting my bareback confidence back was going to take forever, but it seems it won’t at all. Everything with horses seems to take a shorter time than I think it will…or maybe I just lucked out with a very trainable horse 🙂

Yogi likes to rub his face in the mud, lol.
Leave a Reply

