Bareback #5

Horsie torture! I’ve been trying to find Rob a show/stable blanket for the past six months and I cannot find one that’s 1. in her size, 2. A color I like, and 3. A color she looks good in. GAH! This one is heading back to SmartPak. Another is on its way to my house. Hopefully that’ll be the one we go with – we have a show June 1 and I’d really like a blanket!
We had an amazing ride yesterday.
I didn’t feel like going out – Julie wasn’t going, and I’m cleaning Kathy’s stall this week, which meant I would have three stalls to clean, and it was pouring. Around 6:30 I finally felt like heading out. And I’m so glad I did!
I cleaned the stalls, which ended up feeling good. I like cleaning stalls for two main reasons: 1. It feels like a workout (even though it really isn’t), and 2. It’s instant gratification (dirty > clean).  So it was nice to do all three, and it didn’t take as long as I thought it would.
Next, I decided to ride bareback….and oh my gosh, was it amazing. No longer was I hanging on for dear life as we jogged around the indoor. I don’t know if it’s the practice I’ve been getting, the dressage lessons changing my seat, or just a new-found confidence, but last night I was rocking it bareback! We were actually accomplishing things – working on our square exercise, going over trot poles, and doing transitions – and I felt so secure! I even insisted that she trot out, and not jog around like a western horse. I tried to post a little, and we did some small circles (which would have scared me so much a month ago!
Plus, it was really really fun. This “goal” of riding bareback once a week is becoming less and less of a chore. I’m tempted to up the number!
Or I’ll just institute a new goal: cantering and jumping bareback! Maybe by the fall…
Leave a Reply

