Catchup – Stirrupless #1, CC Schooling, Bareback, etc.

Spoiler alert!

I’ve been so bad at journaling lately!!

My last journal was from the Thursday before last, where I tried a bit of stirrupless riding and planned on incorporating that into my schedule – which turned out to be a bit prophetic. Cool.

Friday I had my lesson. I really need to start taking notes directly after my lesson, since details inevitably fall out of my head. But I do remember that the big thing in this lesson was to lean back. We also worked on leg yield (no real progress there, yet) and asking for tighter ToF.

One of the smaller fences we did. What a good girl.

Saturday we headed over to Twin Towers Horse Park for a cross country school! Turns out there was a clinic going on, which the organizers graciously let us watch. Wow, was it awesome and inspiring. Oh, to win the lottery!

Anyway, Robbye was amazing as usual. We started out on little logs, but those quickly became boring, and she didn’t put much effort into clearing them. We ended up going over some substantial stuff, and she didn’t care much at all. What a good girl!

Sunday I gave Rob the day off – we both needed it.

Monday was a bareback day – we worked on transitions and the tighter ToF and leg yields that we had worked on in our lesson.

Tuesday I rode bareback again! There were poles set between standards and the temptation was just too much – we actually did some little jumps over the poles! Of course, that turned out to be not the best idea…she got really excited we were jumping (yay for her loving it!), bucked, and popped me off. Whoops!

(I ended up with skinned patched on my elbows from the sand. Michele was making fun of me, like I was a little kid who had crashed her bike…lol!)

Wednesday we worked on walk->canter transitions – which were just okay – and hitting the stride up to jumps. We also jumped some weirder stuff – blue barrels, the raised gate, and a little oxer. Overall, a meh ride. I think I’m going to need help with both subjects. I don’t know how to teach her the walk->canter transition other than just getting her all revved up, and the chipping before jumps seems to be becoming a bad habit.

Thursday was yet another bareback ride. It was gross outside, so I was stuck in the indoor. It worked out okay, though – I ended up learning one of my two dressage tests for next week.

Friday was my lesson…and Michele took my stirrups! It was great. I was very pleased with her direction and with the progress I made, even if it was very frustrating. Notes:

  • I need to constantly feel like I’m leaning way back – my torso is way too forward. This will help in so many ways, by freeing up her front end!
  • I need to constantly feel like my lower legs are both further back and further away from her body than what feels right.
  • Canter transitions should not included me leaning forward. NO!
  • Get your damn toes in. woman!

So it was another great lesson, of course. I’m learning so much!

Saturday was our day off. Again, we both really needed it.

Kathy and Louie do the log pile. What a good boy!

Sunday we went back to Twin Towers for another cross country school! This time, Kathy came along with Louie for his first cross country school. Other than some trailer drama, it was a great day. Louie had some trouble understanding what he was supposed to do, but overall, everyone was amazing. Julie did a jump she had been nervous to do before, which I was so pleased with!

Yogi’s overjump. EEK.

Robbye and I got to do some combinations:

  • Jump down a little bank (the empty water complex), then jump out over a log. This one forced me to canter down the tiny bank, which scares me. I hate going down hills!
  • Jump over a (substantial!) rolltop, then up a bank, over a small log, and down the other side. Again, going down the hill…EEK! I wish Julie had gotten the down part on video, because I was very pleased with myself for it.
The rolltop we did. Probably our biggest jump yet!

Again, I was so happy with Rob. She just totally gets into jumping. We were doing a canter down a long lane, going past biiiig jumps, and she locked on to every single one like we were jumping it. Ya right, lady!

Whew, I’m glad I’m caught up! This week is reviewing for the show this weekend, learning my second test, not falling off, and show prep and a lesson on Friday. This weekend’s show is going to be awesome – plus, it’s at Twin Towers, so we may be able to school cross country again! SCORE!

Leave a Reply

