Not Feeling It

Robbye and I are still in our funks from last week, even after starting up our regular routine again. This post is probably going to be short. Where in the world is my positivity? Why can’t I see the little progressions all of a sudden? I hope it’s just a personal, temporary thing…maybe it’s the weather. It has been quite cool lately.

So Friday was our first day back from our four day break. It was our lesson, which I requested be indoor. We worked on a couple things:

  • Leg yielding down the wall at a 35 degree angle. I must sit straight, which was hard for me. Halting before the wall helps remind Rob what we’re doing. I must be willing to give up and take a circle if either of us gets frustrated.
  • Letting go when we canter. At both our transitions and during our actual gait, I’ve been hanging onto Rob way too much. This was fine when she needed my help to canter, but she shouldn’t need that anymore. I need to keep my arms and shoulders relax, let my hands follow her (not support her), and let her step into the canter without impeding or making the transition too complicated.
  • I CAN use my outside leg to steer. It DOES work, I just have to mean it, and actually use it.
  • I lose all leg progress when I canter, so I need to work on that.

Overall it was a decent lesson, and I thought it would be enough to kick me out of my funk…but it wasn’t.

Saturday my car was in the shop, so I was stuck at home. Sunday I rode bareback in the indoor. I tried to practice what we learned on Friday, but of course it didn’t really work that well. Monday I again thought it may have been the end of the funk – we had a great ride in the outdoor where we worked on leg yields (I think we’ve had a breakthrough here), the pole transition exercise, and our new canter strategies.

But then yesterday I had another funk ride. Kathy rode her new horse, who seems basically perfect, which made me jealous. And of course when I feel jealous of a friend that makes me even more upset (at myself). So Rob and I accomplished nothing but fighting, really. And I even wanted to jump.

Sigh.

Leave a Reply

