Trail Ride, Lesson, and Decent Jump Ride

I just do not have the energy or desire to write about the past few rides. Ugh. I can’t wait until I get my heart back…

Friday we had a good lesson, but I’m not sure it was really helpful…in retrospect, it was more of a review than anything new. One big thing I learned is that I generally need to unfold. I fold sideways when I want to turn, I fold vertically when I want to work laterally, and I fold forwards when I want to transition upwards. I need to keep my core strong and my back straight.

So that was a nice little epiphany, and I’m anxious to get to work on it.

Saturday Julie, Yogi, Robbye and I went on a trail ride to Twin Creek. There was one great part (almost swimming in the creek, it was so deep!) and a lot of bad parts that I really don’t want to think about.

Sunday we managed to have a good ride, which was a great relief. My dad came out to visit, and we showed off a bit with our “big” jump, which was about 2’8″. We practiced taking the jump at an angle while maintaining a straight approach. Robbye didn’t think taking the fence at an angle was weird at all, so we ended up not needing to really learn anything.

Monday I took the day off. Hopefully tonight I’ll have a productive trip to the barn. Come on, heart, I need you back!

Leave a Reply

