Dressage Test Practice

We’re coming up on our last show of the season – we’re entered in the BN CT, the BN jumpers, and the 2′-3′ Gambler’s Choice at Serenity Valley Farm’s October show at Twin Towers Horse Park. I think the show is going to be really awesome, and I want to do well! To that end, I started working on our dressage test last night (bareback!). It’s the same test as last time, but I’d like to polish it a bit more. I think our transitions and geometry can be a lot better; those aspects of the test are a lot easier to fix than, say, engagement, or even equitation.

Our practice last night was pretty good. I ran through the test twice, making sure to ask for energetic gaits and prompt transitions. Our cantering was bad, but that was probably because I’m scared of cantering in the indoor.

Overall, I think we’re 100% better than we were two months ago. We’ve made some huge progress this summer.

Leave a Reply

