AMAZING lesson, bareback and bridleless, trail ride picnic

My last three rides have been amazing!

Friday I had a super lesson. Apparently Michele has decided that my position is good enough to really buckle down and work on Robbye. We did some exercises to encourage her to start stepping under her and rounding her back. Here are my notes:

  • My arms are now side reins. My hands are motionless, my elbows stay at my sides, and all give and take comes from my shoulder and elbow angles.
  • Lots of good transitions will encourage roundness – both walk/trot and halt/trot. This is something I can really work on!
  • A ToF at the walk will encourage Rob to step underneath herself and really reach with her back legs. This is hard work for both of us, but we can do it.
  • Our big exercise of the day was a leg yield on a 10m circle. Circle inwards, yield outwards. We really didn’t seem to make much progress on this during the lesson; I feel like it’s going to be a lightbulb moment for us.

My favorite part of the lesson was that it really turned into a workout for me. At one point Michele told me to sitting trot and then…never told me to post again! Until this lesson I didn’t really understand why dressage took so much core strength, but I’m definitely starting to see it now. A couple notes about my position:

  • I need to keep my body a little more rigid in the sitting trot. This is something I can easily work on, especially bareback. I need to find the happy medium between arched/tensed and floppy.
  • ARMS ARE SIDE REINS!
  • Still need to make legs back part of my muscle memory during the canter.

So that was an awesome lesson. I still get on a bit of a high just thinking about it.

Saturday I had a great bareback ride out in the outdoor…with no bridle! I did use a halter and leadrope reins…and Robbye didn’t seem to notice that she didn’t have a bit. We did some big cantering, and her brakes and steering were very much intact. Wow.

Sunday Julie, Kathy, Kathy’s mom and I took Robbye and Yogi on a rode ride/drive down to a nearby town, and then picnicked in a cute old cemetery. Rob was great, if a little poky. I let her graze untied while we ate, and it was really nice to not have to worry about her. I’m so glad I didn’t get an OTTB!!!

Leave a Reply

