TOA Blog Hop: A Rose

I love blog hops. I think I say that every week. But it really makes me feel connected to the community, even though I’m still a noob ❤

ForBeka A rose by any other name would smell as sweet.
Every horse seems to have at least three names: the “real” one, the barn one, and that special one. What are some of your pony’s names?

I think I’m going to buck the trend here: Robbye doesn’t really have that many names.

When I met her, her name was Mae:

dcf97-robbyetwoyears
Robbye as a two year old. Still Mae!

Before I even met decided to buy her, I knew I wanted her barn name to be Robbie. I decided to spell it Robbye to match with my name. Dork alert!

7a1b7-imag0924
The first time we met.

Because all of my animals need middle names, and because I knew Robbye’s previous owner really loved her, Robbye’s “full” barn name is Robbye Mae. Of course her name gets shortened to Rob, too. But still, those are really her only barn names: Robbye, Robbye Mae, and Rob.

6f741-gettingonrobbye
Rob ❤

I really struggled to make a show name for Robbye. I knew I wanted it to match her barn name, I knew I wanted it to be “dressagey”, and I knew I wanted it to be nerdy or academic of some kind. But I couldn’t come up with anything. Finally, I posted on reddit asking for suggestions, and the top suggestion was Robigo, which is the (feminine version of the) Roman god of wheat rust.

Another dork alert!

The Story So Far, Part 3: Success!
Awkward photo. I look like I’m about 14. ANYWAY, this was Rob’s first outing as “Robigo”.

The name was perfect and I knew it immediately. The fact that the name includes her barn name and is a sophisticated, short, “dressagey” name would have been enough. But to add to the reasons, Robbye’s coat is a gorgeous reddish rust color – and the roman goddess of wheat rust, of all things, is perfectly nerdy and unexpected.

6 thoughts on “TOA Blog Hop: A Rose

  1. I keep getting more and more of a crush on your girl, shes so pretty ❤ That reddit thread to come up with her name was so cool, I wish I had half the creativity when it comes to names that everyone else seems to have!

    Like

    1. I want to be able to create show names too, ugh. It’s one of my favorite types of thread to read on CotH and blogs. And I’m kinda jealous of people in the model horse hobby who get to make up so many new cool names!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I love the sign too but the horses kept knocking it down and playing with it. So now it lives in my garage D:

      Like

Leave a Reply

